Original Message (Pre-Screened)
Category: Religion
Subject: Muslims and tainted food
Reply: read original | add to Watch List | reply
Thanks for your sensitivity to different cultural/religious food practices.
So, here's a few pointers and then an answer: First, 'Islam' is the religion. 'Muslim' is the person. To say a person is 'Islamic' is incorrect, just like saying a person is 'Christianic' is incorrect. So stick with the word 'Muslim' for the person.
Second, observant Muslims are allowed to eat beef, but they are not allowed to eat pork. Observant Jews are also allowed to eat beef, but not pork. Observant Hindus, on the other hand, are allowed to eat pork, but not beef. Confusing, huh?!
Thirdly, both observant Jews and Muslims must have the beef (or other meat) prepared in a particular way (killed with compassion, etc.) in order for it to be acceptable to eat. The Jews use the word 'kosher' (you may be familiar with that word) for acceptable food; the Muslims use the word 'halal.'
And finally, the key word here is 'observant.' If the person is observant, I doubt that they would even enter a restaurant that did not say 'Kosher' or 'Halal' in large letters on the windows. So if a Muslim is in your restaurant, and the word 'Halal' is not on your window, I would assume he/she knows full well what you are serving, and is comfortable eating it.
If you like, you might have a note in your menu stating that the food is not halal or kosher, but I don't think it would be appropriate to 'warn' someone from a tradition different from yours that your food is not acceptable to them.
Posted:10/5/2007
By:
Laurie , Boston, MA, United States , 56 , Female , Humanist
Mesg ID: 7440677c-425d-4b24-a350-40382a925f18
Responses:0
Share Y? Forum discussion on Facebook Share Y? Forum discussion on Twitter Share Y? Forum discussionShareThis
Pre-screened Responses

None

Unscreened Responses

None

FAQ | Categories | Search | Post